

APPROVED 9-23-15

MINUTES City of Tacoma Public Utility Board Meeting September 9, 2015 6:30 p.m.

Mr. Flint called the Public Utility Board meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. at the Public Utilities Administration Building.

Present: Woodrow Jones, Mark Patterson, Bryan Flint, Karen Larkin

Excused: Monique Trudnowski

The meeting was quorate.

Minutes of the Previous Meetings

Mr. Patterson moved that the minutes of the previous meetings be adopted; seconded by Ms. Larkin. Voice vote was taken and carried. The minutes were declared adopted and made part of the record.

Recognitions

There were no recognitions.

Comments from the Public

Elizabeth Kircher made public comments.

Consent Agenda

There were no items on the consent agenda.

Regular Agenda

- D-1 Resolution U-10801 Award contracts and approve purchases:
 - 1. Award contract to Purcell P&C, LLC for the painting of spillway gates and hoist machinery at the Nisqually Hydroelectric Project and forebay gates and a domestic water tank at the Cowlitz Hydroelectric Project (\$1,960,500, plus applicable sales tax with the option for two additional one-year renewal periods);
 - 2. Increase contract with Iljin Electric, USA, Inc., for the purchase of one additional 22/29 MVA generator step-up transformer (\$387,170, plus sales tax; cumulative total \$774,340, plus sales tax).

At staff request, Mr. Patterson moved to remove item number one from the general purchasing resolution; seconded by Mr. Jones. In response to a Board inquiry regarding the remaining item, Igal Muhumed, Associated Engineer, provided clarification.

Voice vote was taken and carried. The remaining item on the resolution was adopted.

D-2 Resolution U-10802 – Authorize Tacoma Water to enter into a fifteen-year franchise agreement with Pierce County.

Mr. Patterson moved to adopt the resolution; seconded by Mr. Jones.

Heather Pennington, Deputy Water Superintendent, summarized the resolution. Pierce County has granted at 15-year franchise to Tacoma Water to allow continued operation within its jurisdiction. The terms of the franchise are favorable to Tacoma Water and resulted from productive discussions with Pierce County. The franchise covers all of Pierce County east of the Tacoma Narrows and includes desirable terms related to projection coordination. Tacoma Water's service area within the franchise boundary is managed in accordance with the Pierce County Coordinated Water System Plan.

D-3 Resolution U-10803 – Authorize execution of a temporary wholesale water supply purchase agreement between Tacoma Water and Lakehaven Utility District.

Mr. Patterson moved to adopt the resolution; seconded by Mr. Jones.

Sean Senescall, Rates and Financial Planning Manager, summarized the resolution. This resolution would make available up to six million gallons per day of water supply from Lakehaven Utility District for purchase by Tacoma Water, effective September 1, 2015 through January 31, 2016. Tacoma Water would be granted operational use authority over Lakehaven Utility District's Second Supply storage rights, which total 255 million gallons. In exchange for this use authority, Tacoma Water will pay a lump sum of \$170,537 for Lakehaven's storage and make a commitment to purchase a minimum of 128 million gallons of water from Lakehaven's intertie at the cost of \$320,610. In total, Tacoma Water would have access to up to 1,173 million gallons of water at a cost of \$1,010.196.

Voice vote was taken and carried. The resolution was adopted.

Н. Reports of the Director

Director Gaines made introductory remarks and called on Water Superintendent, Linda McCrea, to provide an update on the water supply outlook. Superintendent McCrea summarized the water supply outlook and provided an update on conservation efforts.

I. **Comments by the Board**

Mr. Jones made positive remarks about the water conservation messaging sent by TPU.

J. Adjournment

There being no further business or comments, the Public Utility Board was adjourned at 6:58 p.m. until Wednesday, September 23, 2015, for a study session beginning at 3:00

p.m., followed by the regular meeting a	t 6:30 p.m.	
Approved:		
Bryan Flint, Chair	Monique Trudnowski, Secretary	
		2