

APPROVED 4-22-15

# MINUTES City of Tacoma Public Utility Board Study Session April 8, 2015 3:00 p.m.

Mr. Flint called the Public Utility Board study session to order at 3:07 p.m. at the Public Utilities Administration Building.

Present: Dave Nelson, Mark Patterson, Bryan Flint, Monique Trudnowski Excused: Woody Jones

## **Residential Customer Satisfaction Survey**

Bob Mack, Deputy Director for Internal Affairs, made introductory remarks and introduced Dan Drennan, Marketing and Development Manager, and Holly Costanza, Marketing and Business Research Analysis.

TPU established the customer satisfaction tracking research program in late 2014 in order to develop a method for assessing customer satisfaction to determine priorities for action and investments in operations, training, communications, and product and service offerings. Also the information provides actionable guidance to help the company plan programs and initiatives that strengthen customer relations. The survey methodology was outlined.

Mr. Drennan detailed the satisfaction ratings for each of the measures. In summary, TPU is viewed very positively for most aspects of the services it provides. TPU is ranked in the first quartile of electric utilities measured nationally among residential customers for 23 of 26 measures.

## **Miscellaneous**

Director Gaines shared that the 2014 TPU management review has been completed and provided to the Board and it will be a discussion topic at an upcoming PUB study session.

The Director reminded the Board of the public town hall meetings to discuss Click! on April 9 at 7:00 pm at Stadium High School and April 23 at 7:00 pm at TPU.

## **Executive Session**

Mr. Patterson made a motion to convene an executive session for the purpose of reviewing the performance of a public employee per RCW 42.30.110(1)(g) at 4:15 p.m. to end at 5:30 p.m.; seconded by Mr. Nelson.

The executive session was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

#### **Adjournment**

The study session was adjourned at 5:15 p.m. until the next regularly scheduled study session on Wednesday, April 22, 2015 at 3:00 p.m.

Approved:

Approved:

Woodrow E. Jones, Jr., Chair

Mark Patterson, Secretary