

APPROVED 3-27-19

MINUTES City of Tacoma Public Utility Board Study Session March 13, 2019 3:00 p.m.

Mr. Jones called the Public Utility Board study session to order at 3:02 p.m. at the Public Utilities Administration Building.

Present: Woodrow E. Jones, Jr., Christine Cooley (arrived 3:24), Mark Patterson, Karen Larkin, Bryan Flint

Tacoma Power: Power Facilities Relocation Contributions for Public Works Projects

Rachel Allen, Power Section Manager, made introductory remarks. The main focus of the presentation is the contribution by Tacoma Power for the relocation of our facilities in respect to Public Works projects. Also included is an update on last year's resolution and presentation of financial the options regarding some conversation projects. As background, the Brewery District undergrounding pilot program was approved in April 2018. Code clarity for overhead and underground relocations for Public Works projects will be completed in the second quarter of 2019. Financial options for underground service conversions and feeder improvements are scheduled for the third quarter of 2019. The guiding principles through these changes has been clarity, consistency, and collaboration. Ms. Allen then provided an overview of the different processes between jurisdictions relative to Public Works projects (franchise agreements and City Municipal Code). Recommendations for clarity, consistency, and collaboration to align the code with franchise agreements were summarized. This includes suggested language changes in TMC 10.24.010 to reflect relocation request cooperative relocation at Tacoma Power's sole expense; changes in TMC 10.24.030 to reflect subsequent relocation request incorporating a cost share for 15-year lifespan; and changes to TMC 10.24.035 regarding relocation with underground conversion requested in conjunction with a Public Works project, Tacoma Power will pay 50 percent of project costs. Ms. Allen concluded by reviewing the fiscal impact estimate for the biennium and payment alternatives relative to service conversions or developer infrastructure requirements. Payment alternatives are: 1) customer's service conversion cost rolled into the Local Improvement District (not permissible to roll costs into the LID program); 2) developer charges for line upgrades off set payments (RCW 35.92.025 and 35.67.360 not applicable for electric system. Board Members expressed approval to proceed with staff recommendations.

Board Workshop Follow-Up Discussion

The Board Members revisited the top strategic directives adopted at the January workshop. The group consensus was to start work the Equity and Inclusion strategic directive as a group at the March 27 Board meeting. Board Members will begin to familiarize themselves with the other top strategic directives and will decide on a plan to fully develop them. The Board divided the review work as follows: Board Member Flint: stakeholder engagement; Board Member Larkin: Innovation; Board Member Cooley: Environmental leadership; Board Members Patterson and Jones: Rates and Financial Stability. Discussion on the best ways to utilize study session time and reports of the Director time at the evening meeting ensued. The conversation of expanding Board representation of interests was then revisited, including establishing a commission of stakeholders to the Board. The Environmental Services commission charter was shared as an example of what can be put in place. Discussion on specific areas of focus for the commission and the option of ensuring diversity through the Board's strategic directives and other outreach efforts ensued.

Executive Session

Board Member Larkin moved to convene an executive session at 5:43 p.m. for five minutes for the purpose of discussing potential litigation per RCW 42.30.110(1)(i)); seconded by Board Member Patterson. Voice vote to convene an executive session was taken and carried. The executive session was adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Adjournment

The study session was adjourned at 5:48 p.m. until the next regularly scheduled study session on Wednesday, March 27, 2019 at 3:00 p.m.

Approved:

Approved:

Woodrow E. Jones, Jr., Chair

Bryan Flint, Secretary